Being a father doesn't have to be harder than facing a long par-5 with a wicked wind in your face … just make sure your playing partner is a loving mother

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads.

And let’s not all deceive ourselves. While dads are important, the true superstars of family life are the mothers.

I think that’s primarily a matter of biology. Children feel closer to their mothers who toted them along like groceries in the womb for nine months while their fathers were in a water hazard on the golf course or simply in a watering hole.

And partly a matter of being there. Kids relate to mothers who cleaned up their puke, cooked for them, shopped for them, indulged them and pampered them while their fathers were in a water hazard on the golf course or simply in a watering hole.

Not that all fathers are MIA. A lot of dads show up for Little League games and scream batting tips at Junior even though the old man hit .196 in Little League.

By the way, for you young fathers out there and for those who hope to be dads someday, there’s really no trick to it. Just have a big wallet so you can spend lavishly on your kids for the remainder of your life, not to mention your estate, let the mother take care of everything else, and memorize some words to live by:

Such as …

“You’re going to sit there until you eat your dinner. I don’t care if you sit there all night.”

“Delayed obedience is disobedience.”
“When I say no, I mean no. Why? Because, that’s why.”
“If you don’t stop crying, I’ll give you something to cry about.”
“Two wrongs do not make a right.”
“As long as you tried your hardest, that’s all that matters.”
“I’m spanking you because I love you. This hurts me a lot more than it hurts you.”
“If I didn’t hear it, you didn’t say it!”
“Shape up or ship out.”
“That’s so funny? Wipe that smile off your face.”
“We’ll do it the right way. My way.”
“Don’t ask me, ask your mother.”
“This is your last warning.”
“You’re grounded for life.”
“Let that be a lesson to you.”
“Son, don’t ever get married. And tell that to your kids.”
“Enough is enough!”
“Do what I say, not what I do.”
“I do not want my last words to be, ‘Son, you know that gun’s loaded.'”

