Petraeus: I always knew Benghazi was a terrorist strike

OK, maybe this was a big ruh-roh or maybe no ruh-roh at all.
My hunch it’s more of the former. I’m more confused than I was in high school trig class.
But I do know this is getting messier than a truck stop kitchen.
Ex-CIA Director David Petraeus told lawmakers during private hearings Friday that he and the CIA brass believed all along that the Sept. 11 attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi was a terrorist strike, even though somewhere along the chain of command the terrorism talking points were left on the cutting room floor.
Granted, editors love to hit the delete button even more than Petraeus loved to hit on Paula Broadwell.
Since the hearings were private, the media has to rely exclusively on second-hand accounts from those in the room. Hence, the picture is blurry from the spin cycle.
Rep. Adam Schiff, D-Calif., said Petraeus disputed Republican suggestions that the White House misled the public on what led to the violence in the midst of President Obama’s reelection campaign.
“There was an interagency process to draft it, not a political process,” Schiff said after the hearing. “They came up with the best assessment without compromising classified information or source or methods. So changes were made to protect classified information.”
Smacks of politics to me, but that’s just me.
Don’t you just wish we could end the reign of mystery that has hung like a black cloud over Benghazi?
Petraeus did not discuss the sex scandal that has made him more infamous than Lindsay Lohan except to express regret about the circumstances of his departure from the CIA.
So no more juicy gossip on that front, my friends.
I can’t read Petraeus’ mind, but I’m sure he’d love to put a muzzle on all the mouths that questioned him today.

